GE 111 I: The Monstrous 

Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://libraryguides.stolaf.edu/GEWillcoxon  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Where to Find Your Monster?             Print Page
  
 

Monster of a Word

See what's hiding under the word (from Ofxord English Dictionary)

monster, n., adv., and adj.

 

Illustration from the frontispiece of the 1831 edition of Frankenstein, by Theodor von Holst.

And other monstrous creatures:

 
 

Mythology, Horror, Fantasy, Romanticism...

Browse through reference works in search of topic ideas and for background readings on your topic.

The Cambridge companion to Greek mythology. [BL783 .C36 2007]

Handbook of Egyptian mythology. [BL2441.3 .P56 2002]

Supernatural literature of the world: An encyclopedia. 3v. [PN56.S8 S86 2005]

Icons of horror and the supernatural: An encyclopedia of our worst nightmares. 2v. [PN56.H6 I26 2007]

Fantasy and horror: A critical and historical guide to literature, illustration, film, TV, radio, and the Internet. [PN56.F34 F34 1999]

St. James guide to horror, ghost & gothic writers. [PN3435 .S7154 1998]

Storytelling: An encyclopedia of mythology and folklore. 3v. [GR35 .S76 2008]

Medieval folklore: An encyclopedia of myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs. 2v. [GR35 .M43 2000]

Folklore: An encyclopedia of beliefs, customs, tales, music, and art. 2v. [ GR35 .F63 1997]

Propaganda and mass persuasion: A historical encyclopedia, 1500 to the present. [HM1231 .C85 2003]

The Encyclopedia of propaganda. 3v. [HM263 .E53 1998]

The encyclopedia of superheroes on film and television. [PN1995.9.S76 M85 2008]


 

 

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageKasia Gonnerman
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait