This is the "Where to Find Your Trickster?" page of the "Ge111H: Trickster" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ge111H: Trickster  

Last Updated: Apr 22, 2010 URL: http://libraryguides.stolaf.edu/Trickster Print Guide RSS Updates

Where to Find Your Trickster? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Who Are Some of Them?

 

The trickster figure Reynard the Fox as depicted in an 1869 children's book by Michel Rodange. Image from Wikimedia Commons. Retrieved Aprul 20, 2010.

Some major trickster figures (in Encyclopedia Britannica and Encyclopedia Mythica):

 

Mythology, Folklore, Anthroplogy, Literature...

Browse through reference works in search of  ideas and for background readings on your topic.

Folklore:

Clowns & tricksters: an encyclopedia of tradition and culture. [GR524 .C48 1998]

Storytelling: An encyclopedia of mythology and folklore. 3v. [GR35 .S76 2008]

Folklore: An encyclopedia of beliefs, customs, tales, music, and art. 2v. [GR35 .F63 1997]

African folklore: an encyclopedia. [GR350 .A33 2004]

The Greenwood encyclopedia of African American folklore 3v. [GR111 .A47 G74 2006]

Encyclopedia of American folklife 4v. [GR105 .E53 2006]

The Greenwood encyclopedia of folktales and fairy tales. 3v. [GR74 .G73 2008]

The Greenwood library of world folktales: Stories from the great collections. 4v. [GR74 .G74 2008]

Mythology:

The Cambridge companion to Greek mythology. [BL783 .C36 2007]

Handbook of Egyptian mythology. [BL2441.3 .P56 2002]

The Oxford companion to world mythology [RR BL312 .L44 2005]

The encyclopedia of Celtic mythology and folklore [RR BL900 .M66 2004]

A dictionary of African mythology: the mythmaker as storyteller [RR BL303 .S24 2000]

The Facts on File encyclopedia of world mythology and legend [RR BL303 .M45 1988]

Literature:

Encyclopedia of fable. [PN980 .S66 1998] 

Fools and jesters in literature, art and history: A bio-bibliographical sourcebook. [PN1583 .F66 1998] 

Encyclopedia of folklore and literature [PN41 .E48 1998]

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip