Art Subject Guide

GENERAL

The Encyclopedia of Religion. 15v [Reference: BL31 .E46 2005] or online version

Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities. [Reference: BL473 .C67 2000]

Encyclopedia of Sacred Places. [Reference: BL580 .B76 1997]

A Dictionary of Asian Mythology. [Reference: BL1005 .L46 2001]

 EGYPT & AFRICA

Handbook of Egyptian Mythology. [Reference: BL2441.3 .P56 2002]

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. 3v. [Reference: DT58 .O94 2001] or online version

New Encyclopedia of Africa. 5v [Reference: DT2 .N48 2008]

 GREECE & ROME

The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion. [Reference: BL715 .O94 2003]

Oxford Classical Dictionary. [DE5 .O9 2003] or online version

Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization. [Reference: DE5 .C28 2006]

INDIA

Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism.  4v.  [Reference: BL1105 .B76 2009]

The Hindu World. [Reference: BL1202 .H546 2004]

Encyclopedia of India. 4v [Reference: DS405 .E556 2006]

 CHINA & JAPAN

Handbook of Chinese Mythology. [Reference: BL1825 .Y355 2005]

Nanzan Guide to Japanese Religion. [Reference: BL2210.5 .N36 2006]

Encyclopedia of Buddhism. 2v [Reference: BQ128 .E62 2004]

Berkshire Encyclopedia of China. 5v [DS735 .A2 B47 2009]

Japan Encyclopedia. [Reference: DS821 .L6813 2002]

THE NEAR EAST

A Dictionary of Ancient Near Eastern Mythology.  [Reference: BL1060 .L44 1991] or online version

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World. 2v [Reference: BP40 .E525 2004]

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World. 6v. [Reference: DS35.53 .O96 2009] or online version

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East. 5v [Reference: DS56 .O9 1997] or online version

 THE AMERICAS

Dictionary of Native American Mythology. [Reference: E98 .R3 G46 1992]

The Encyclopedia of Native American Religion. [Reference: E98 .R3 H73 1992]

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures. 3v [Reference: F1218.6 .O95 2001] or online version

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. 6v. [Reference: F1406 .E53 1996]