EndNote Guide

When directly exporting full-text references from a database into EndNote, the full-text PDF files will not be attached. 
To attach a PDF, the file must be downloaded to your computer first.

In Database:

• Click PDF Full-Text to view the file.
• Save the file to your desktop.

In EndNote:

• Drag the PDF file from your desktop directly on top of the reference to which you want to attach it.

A paperclip will appear in front of your reference, which indicates that the PDF is now in the file attachments field of the reference.

Similar to the Bridge Find It button, EndNote has the ability to find and import full-text PDFs. 

To find full-text:

• highlight the references for which you want full-text articles
• right click, on the dropdown menu and choose Find Full Text or click the  icon 
• a copyright notice will pop up, click Continue
• in the lefthand column of the screen under Find Full Text, you'll see your Full Text search status
• if full-text is found, a paperclip appears next to the reference
• if full-text cannot be found, the lefthand column will say Full Text Not Found

***for various reasons, sometimes EndNote fails to find Full Text files even though they exist.  When EndNote cannot find Full Text, you should still look online in our databases or ask a reference librarian to assist you in finding full-text articles.

***In order to access the EndNote Find Full Text function, you must make sure the Open URL path is correct. You can check this by customizing your preferences:

Mac Customization Instructions:
Launch EN
Upper left. Click EN and drag down to Preferences.
Click Find Full Text.
Where it says Open Url Path paste this:

http://stolaf-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01BRC_SOC/01BRC_SOC_SERVICES?

PC Customization Instructions:
Launch EN
Go up to Edit.
Click Preferences.
Click Find Full Text.
Where it says Open Url Path paste this:

http://stolaf-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01BRC_SOC/01BRC_SOC_SERVICES?

Manually Importing a Single PDF:

• Save a PDF to your desktop.
• In EndNote, drag the PDF file from your desktop directly on top of the reference to which you want to attach it.
• A paperclip will appear in front of your reference, which indicates that the PDF is now in the file attachments field of the reference.

Manually Importing a Folder Containing Multiple PDF files:

• Go to File dropdown menu.
• Choose Import and select Folder.
• In the box that will appear, choose your folder and select PDF for the import option.
• Click Import.

*Files will appear as References.  Depending on the quality of the PDF, the reference information should also transfer to the proper fields.  However, if the information does NOT transfer you will have to edit the reference information manually.