Classics Subject Guide 

Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://libraryguides.stolaf.edu/classics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home - Basic Resources             Print Page
  
 

Classical Civilization

 

IM

 
 

Basic Sources for Classics

LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics. 14v. [R.R. P29 .E48 2006]

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages. [R.R. P371 .C357 2004]

Oxford Concise Companion to Classical Literature. [R.R. PA31 .H693 1993]

Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome. 2v. [R.R. PA3002 .A5]

Loeb Classical Library [Rolvaag Level 2: PA3611 - PA3612].  "The Loeb Classical Library® is the only series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.  Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, our entire classical heritage is represented here in convenient and well-printed pocket volumes in which an up-to-date text and accurate and literate English translation face each other page by page."


LANGUAGE RESOURCES

A Greek-English Lexicon (Oxford). [R.R. PA445 .E5 L6 1996]

Dictionaire étymologique de la langue grecque: histoire des mots. [R.R. PA422 .C5 1999]

Oxford Latin Dictionary. 2v [R.R. PA2365 .E58 O9]

Thesaurus linguae latinae. 10v [Ref Storage: PA2361 .T41]

Medieval Latin: An Introduction and Bibliographic Guide. [Rolvaag Level 2: PA2802 .M43 1996]

Mediae Latinitatis lexicon minus. 2v [R.R. PA2890 .N54 2002]


PHILOSOPHY

Oxford Companion to Philosophy. [R.R. B51 .O94 1995]

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 10v. [R.R. B51 .R68 1998]

Routledge History of Philosophy. 10v. [R.R. B72 .R6]
    especially v1: From the Beginning to Plato; and v2: From Aristotle to Augustine

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy. [R.R. B163 .E53 1997]


RELIGION

The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion. [R.R. BL715 .O94 2003]

Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities. [R.R. BL473 .C67 2000]

Women of Classical Mythology. [R.R. BL715 .B445 1991]


ART

The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture. 2v. [R.R. N5610 .G76 2007]


ATLAS

Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity. [R.R. G1033 .B3 2000]


HISTORY

The Cambridge Ancient History. 14v. [Rolvaag Level 5: D57 .C252]

The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization. [R.R. DE5 .C28 2006]

The Oxford Classical Dictionary. [R.R. DE5 .O9 2003]

A Companion to Greek and Roman Historiography. 2v. [R.R. DE8 .C65 2007]

Women's Roles in Ancient Civilization. [R.R. HQ1127 .W654 1999]

Biographical Dictionary of Ancient Greek and Roman Women. [R.R. HQ1136 .L54 2000]

International Medieval Bibliography. [R.R. D111 .I57 1989-present]

*          *          *          *          *          *          *          *

The following two resources are being translated from the German.  St. Olaf is acquiring volumes as they are being released.

Brill's Encyclopedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity. [R.R. DE5 .N4813 2002]

Brill's Encyclopedia of the Ancient World: Classical Tradition. [R.R. DE5 .P33213 2006]

 

Reference Librarian

 

We can help you to:

  • Get started on your research
  • Cite sources
  • Find books, articles, web sites, primary sources, images, etc.
  • Find happiness
  • Refine your topic
  • Evaluate sources
  • Develop procrastination techniques
  • Order materials from Carleton and beyond
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait