- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Norwegian Immigrants -- Finding Family Members in the US
- Finding Individual People (Ancestry.com)
Norwegian Immigrants -- Finding Family Members in the US
Research & Writing Tutors
Research Librarian
Ancestry.com Library Edition
The major public resource for genealogical research. St. Olaf affiliates and on-campus researchers can use the link below. Other researchers should check with their local public library for access information.
- Ancestry.com Library Edition This link opens in a new windowGenealogical records, census data, photos, and historical maps. International coverage with particular strength in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom. Also includes Jewish family history and military records. Dates of coverage vary by collection.
Ancestry.com
The links below may not connect you with the St. Olaf Library Edition of Ancestry.com. They will give you a sense for the variety of sources available to search in Ancestry.com Library Edition.
Census Records & Voter Lists
Census records are a cornerstone of family history research and Ancestry.com has the only complete online collection of U.S. Census Records (1790 – 1930).
U.S.: 1930, 1920, 1910, 1900, 1890, 1880, 1870, 1860, 1850, 1840, 1830, 1820, 1810, 1800, 1790
England: 1901, 1891, 1881, 1871, 1861, 1851, 1841
Immigration & Emigration Records
Search ship passenger lists from Ellis Island to New Orleans and California, plus naturalization records, passport applications and more.
New York Passenger Lists, 1820-1957
Boston Passenger Lists, 1820-1943
U.S. Passport Applications, 1795-1925
New York Port Ships Images 1851-1891
Family Trees
The world’s largest family history community shares its research, photos, stories and notes with you in these databases.
Newspapers & Periodicals
Discover more of what your ancestor’s life was like in historic newspapers — from big cities to small towns. Obituaries are updated daily.
Stars and Stripes Newspaper, Pacific Editions, 1945-1963
Court, Land, Wills & Financial Records
The legal documents your ancestors left behind can be very beneficial to your research.
U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918
U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Patents, 1790-1909
Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records, 1639-1850
Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers
Discover where your ancestors lived, how the area developed, how boundaries changed and where to find more records.
U.S. County Land Ownership Atlases, 1864-1918
U.S. Map Collection, 1513-1990
Historic Land Ownership and Reference Atlases, 1507-2000
Gazetteer of the state of New York
Go to the Card Catalog to browse through all titles across all of our collections.
Birth, Marriage & Death Records
You’ll find millions of vital records on Ancestry.com — from U.S. states and countries around the world.
California Birth Index 1905–1995
England & Wales Birth Index, 1916–2005
Military Records
Explore the largest collection of U.S. military records online — draft cards, service records, muster rolls, as well as global military records.
U.S. World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946
U.S. Marine Corps Muster Rolls, 1798-1940
World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918
U.S. Civil War Soldiers, 1861-1865
Photos and Images
From around the country and the world — photos provide rich context to your ancestors’ lives. You may even find a yearbook photo of Grandma.
Library of Congress Photo Collection, 1840-2000
Directories & Member Lists
Find addresses, occupations, family members and more in directories through the ages.
U.S. Public Record Index Vo. 1, Vol. 2
U.S. Phone & Address Directories, 1993-2002
Stories, Memories & Histories
These resources can provide a rare glimpse into the lives and times of your ancestors.
England & Wales, Criminal Registers, 1791-1892
American Genealogical-Biographical Index
Slave Registers of former British Colonial Dependencies, 1812-1834
Indexes to Biographical Material
Available to St. Olaf affiliates and researchers on campus. It indexes many, many biographical sources including all the various "Who's Who in..."