Biology Subject Guide

Welcome!

This guide includes information and resources designed to aid you with research in the field of biology. Explore the tabs on the left or look below for information on finding books and articles, choosing which databases to search, and more. For further assistance with your research, please reach out to your librarian using the contact information in the left-hand column -- we're here to help!

Databases: Find Biology Articles

Key Databases for Biology

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.

Additional Databases

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, government documents, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports in agriculture and related fields. Covers materials published 1970-present.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full-text review articles in the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. Covers materials published 1932-present.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in the aquatic sciences. Covers materials published 1971-present.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Full-text research articles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Biosis Previews This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, and other materials in the life sciences, including research in botany, zoology, microbiology, agriculture, pharmacology, ecology, biochemistry, bioengineering, and medicine. Covers materials published 1926-present.
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Data Citation Index fully indexes a significant number of the world's leading data repositories of critical interest to the scientific community, including over two million data studies and datasets.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and provides a simple interface for accessing full-text content, tracking citations, and citing sources.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, pamphlets, reports (industry, government, and nonprofit), and other materials on environmental issues.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, online books, and other materials in biomedical fields, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1950-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
The world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.