Environmental Studies Subject Guide

Find Background Info

Keywords for Environmental Studies
Publication Date: 2016
This e-book "analyzes the central terms and debates currently structuring the most exciting research in and across environmental studies, including the environmental humanities, environmental social sciences, sustainability sciences, and the sciences of nature."
Encyclopedia of Sustainability
Call Number: (Rolvaag Reference) GE140 .C65 2010
Publication Date: 2010
"As the first major reference work in its field, the three comprehensive volumes span the entire scope of sustainability from ecological concepts to financial concerns to public policy and community action, giving readers a solid foundation from which to think critically about efforts to make a more sustainable world."

Electronic encyclopedia collections:

Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and encyclopedias, plus case studies, primary source documents, images, podcasts, videos, statistics, and other materials in environmental studies. Users can browse by topic/issue and geographical area (using an interactive map) in addition to searching by keyword.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, pamphlets, reports (industry, government, and nonprofit), and other materials on environmental issues.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The Social Science Premium Collection from ProQuest includes international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
PolicyFile indexes, abstracts, and links directly to current research on virtually every public policy issue, with international coverage from many organizations around the world, as well as in-depth coverage of U.S. domestic policy organizations.

Climate Reanalyzer
This freely available site offers time series data on mean temperature, precipitation, and more for any region of the world (choose Monthly Reanalysis Timeseries). Download data files as .csv and import to Excel, or save Monthly Reanalysis Maps as image files.