Asian Studies 200: Anime & Manga in Contemporary Japan
Research & Writing Tutors
Research & Instruction/Data Services Librarian
Databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles and book chapters in Asian Studies. Primarily western-language materials in the humanities and social sciences, on East, South, and Southeast Asia. Covers materials published 1971-present, with some coverage extending back to the late nineteenth century.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, book reviews, and other materials in the arts and humanities. Users can search for articles that cite a particular article or author. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period. Excludes North American history (which is covered in the companion database America: History & Life). Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1955-present.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews in philosophy. Covers materials published 1940-present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
- Sociology Collection This link opens in a new windowIndex and full text databases covering sociology and social services. Includes Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) (1987 - current), Sociological Abstracts (1952 - current), and Sociology Database (1985 - current).
- BrowZine This link opens in a new windowBrowZine is the preferred service that researchers around the world use to browse, read and follow the scholarly journals available from their library.
- A-Z List of DatabasesClick "Filter by Subject" to find databases relevant to your topic.
Finding Anime & Manga Scholarly Journals
- Core Journals of Anime/Manga Studies"This a guide to many of these [anime and manga] journals, organized by broad subject area, with background information on each one, such as its scope of coverage, availability in major academic databases, and sample articles."
- Media, Culture & Society"Media, Culture & Society provides a major international, peer-reviewed forum for the presentation of research and discussion concerning the media, including the newer information and communication technologies, within their political, economic, cultural and historical contexts."
- Studies in Popular Culture"Studies in Popular Culture publishes articles on popular culture however mediated: through film, literature, radio, television, music, graphics, print, practices, associations, events--any of the material or conceptual conditions of life."
