LibKey Nomad
Librarian
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
Find Newspaper and Magazine Articles
These databases are good places to search for magazine and newspaper articles. They also contain some peer-reviewed research articles.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
-
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Includes 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text. Covers materials published 1971-present.
What is a scholarly article?
What is a scholarly article?
A scientist's job is to create new knowledge. They share their ideas and findings by publishing articles in scientific journals, like these:
It would take a long, long time to browse even these four journals to find articles on your topic and most of these articles are NOT available via Google, so where can you find what you need? Library databases are search engines to help you find scholarly articles. We subscribe to over 300 databases on a wide variety of topics.
Find Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) Research Articles
These databases are good places to search for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles:
-
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches scholarly literature and provides a simple interface for accessing full-text content, tracking citations, and citing sources.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, pamphlets, reports (industry, government, and nonprofit), and other materials on environmental issues.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.
Tips for article searching:
- Be as specific as possible -- use scientific names and terms
- Use the "Find It" button to track down the full text
- Use the Publication Date slider to limit to the most recently published articles
- In SciTech Premium Collection, filter your results by Source Type - "Scholarly Journals"