- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Biology 395: Biomedical Innovation Scholars Program
- Health/Science Research
Biology 395: Biomedical Innovation Scholars Program
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Molecular Discovery, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics and Data Science
Databases
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, online books, and other materials in biomedical fields, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1950-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
-
Search MeSH (Medical Subject Headings)"MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is the NLM controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed." Search this thesaurus to identify terminology you should use when searching PubMed.
-
ClinicalTrials.gov"ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world." Administered by the US National Library of Medicine.
-
More Biology DatabasesLinks to all databases St. Olaf subscribes to that have content relevant to biology research.
-
More Health DatabasesClick here for a list of additional nursing and healthcare-related databases
Types of Review Articles
-
Overview of Systematic Reviews from Brown UniversityTrying to understand the differences between literature reviews, systematic reviews, meta analyses, and more? This guide from Brown provides a great overview of the differences between and definitions of various reviews.
A Note on Preprints
Articles in the sciences and health sciences are often initially posted online as preprints. A preprint is a draft of a scholarly article, made available online before it has gone through the formal peer-review process or been published by a scholarly journal. While preprints allow researchers to disseminate their findings more quickly, the lack of a formal peer-review process means that readers should be especially careful to evaluate the quality of the research. If the preprint is more than a month or two old, search for a final, published version of the article; your librarians can help with this!