Music 242: Music History and Literature II

LibKey Nomad

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Christiansen Hall of Music 147 (Music Library)
& Rolvaag Library 306

507-786-3362

Subjects: Art and Art History, Dance, Music, Theater

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 29 vols.
REF ML 100.N48 2001
The most scholarly music encyclopedia in the English language, available in paper in the Music Library's reference area, and online. Be sure to use the bibliographies and list of composers' works at the end of articles.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of reference works on music across genres and eras.
Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference resource on all genres of classical music, medieval to contemporary. Includes dictionaries, encyclopedia articles, biographies, histories, and other materials.

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World. 7 vols.
REF ML 102.P66C66 2003
Arranged geographically.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedia covering music around the world and throughout history. Includes regional overviews, information on musical genres and practices, and images (photographs, drawings, maps, and musical examples).

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

Use dictionaries to locate quick definitions or meanings of terms.

The music library owns many specialized dictionaries in the music reference collection (call number range REF ML 100-109)

Harvard Dictionary of Music
REF ML100.A64 2003
The basic dictionary of musical terms. Does not contain biographical information.
Terminorum Musicae Index: Septem Linguis Redactus
REF ML108.T476
Offers equivalent musical terms in seven languages.

New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. 3 vols.
REF ML 102.J3N48 2001
Scholarly articles on all aspects of jazz, including helpful bibliographies. Included in Grove Music Online in the online version.

Contemporary Musicians.
REF ML 105.C76 1989
A multi-volume set with biographical information on a wide range of musicians. Use the index at the back of the latest volume!
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World. 7 vols.
REF ML 102.P66C66 2003
Arranged geographically.
Larkin, Colin. Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Brief biographical entries for a wide variety of popular musicians.

Good starting places when looking for analyses of music:

Diamond, Harold. Music Analyses: An Annotated Guilde to the Literature.
REF ML128.A7D5 1991
Geared for an undergraduate collection such as ours. We've even written call numbers by things we own!
Hoek, D.J. Analyses of 19th and 20th Century Music, 1940-2000.
REF ML113.W45 2007
Reader's Guide to Music: History, Theory, Criticism.
REF ML160.R32 1992
A great starting place for most topics. Essays provide an overview of general music topics and their literature, including information about authors' biases, etc.