- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Art 254: Italian Renaissance
- Background Research
Art 254: Italian Renaissance
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
Online Reference
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly art encyclopedia covering artist biographies, works, traditions, media, techniques, and concepts in art history and theory. Includes a searchable collection of images.
- The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in ArtRolvaag Stacks: N8510 .G76 2008
This reference work provides fascinating historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowThe Cambridge Companions are introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, and each title is supported by reference features such as a chronology and guide to further reading.
- Oxford Bibliographies: Women and the Visual ArtsThis bibliography focuses on the Renaissance
Paper Volumes
Some items to find in the Rolvaag Reference Room:
- Encyclopedia of the RenaissanceRolvaag Ref: CB361 .E52 1999; also available online
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World HistoryHQ1121 .O93 2008
- Oxford History of Western ArtN5300 .O946 2000
- Encyclopedia of Comparative IconographyN7560 .E53 1998