Skip to Main Content

British and Irish Music Resources

LibKey Nomad

Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Christiansen Hall of Music 147 (Music Library)
& Rolvaag Library 306

507-786-3362

Subjects: Art and Art History, Dance, Music, Theater

Lists of Digital Musicology Resources

Digital Resources for Musicology
Sheet Music Consortium
Indexes sheet music held by multiple archives; mostly 19th-early 20th American publications. Many of the direct links are out of date. If the link is broken, visit the archive's own website and browse for the work there.
List of Open-Access Music Journals
Matthew Franke's list of OA resources; last updated January 2020.

Open-Access Collections

Digital Projects related to Music in Britain and Ireland

AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music (CHARM)
Burney Center (McGill University)
Calendar of London Concerts 1750-1800
Concert Annals Index
Concert Programmes Database
Edinburgh Theatre Royal Playbills
Encyclopedia of Romantic Nationalism in Europe
Glen Collection of Printed Music (National Library of Scotland)
Hymn Tune Index
Irish Sheet Music Archives
London Stage Database
Musical Passage An exploration of Englishman Hans Sloane’s 1707 book Voyage to the Islands, which details his trip to the Caribbean, and features transcriptions and descriptions of music performed by enslaved Africans there.
Music Festivals Database
Reid Concerts at University of Edinburgh (1841 to present)
Royal Opera House Performance Database
Scottish Music Index
Scottish Song Index
Scottish Theatre Programmes (National Library of Scotland)
Songs of the Victorians
Séamus Connolly Collection of Irish Music
Tobar an Dualchais Audio recordings of Scottish Gaelic music and storytelling