- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- FYS 120 M: The 1960s Through Music
- Primary Sources in Databases
FYS 120 M: The 1960s Through Music
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Primary Resources in Databases
Many of the databases provided by the St. Olaf Libraries include primary resources.
Navigate to the A-Z database list and click the "Database Types" menu. Archives, images, and news databases are excellent places to look for primary sources for humanities research.
Primary Source Databases for the 1960s
Images and Historical Documents
-
JSTOR Images This link opens in a new windowDiverse digital image library covering architecture, decorative arts, design, painting, photography, and sculpture from many cultures. Includes photographs of musicians from the 1960s.
-
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of primary sources from popular culture in Britain and America, spanning 1950-1975.
-
Umbra Search: African American History This link opens in a new windowUmbra Search makes African American History more broadly and freely accessible by bringing together hundreds of thousands of digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries, archives, and museums across the country. Useful if researching BIPOC musicians.
Magazines and Newspapers (Journalistic Sources)
-
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new windowFull-text periodicals by and about African Americans. Searchable by date range, era in US history, place of publication, and article type as well as by keyword.
-
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDigitized newspapers published in the United States between 1690 and 2000. Searchable by date range, era in US history, place of publication, and article type as well as by keyword.
-
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text from The Atlanta Constitution (1896-1945), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and The New York Times (1851-2007).
-
Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of TIME Magazine from 1923-2000. A chronicle of 20th-century history, current events, business and politics.
-
Times Digital Archive: 1785-2007 This link opens in a new windowThe Times of London archive includes every complete page of every issue--full-text searchable--every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.
-
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowContains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out is included.
Audiovisual Databases
Streaming Music
-
Naxos Musical Library Jazz This link opens in a new windowA collection of streaming jazz recordings.
-
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio of classical music, plus some world music and jazz.
Streaming Video
-
Academic Video Online Premium (AVON) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive streaming video collection includes independent films, documentaries, educational films, newsreels, theater and musical performances, and much more from across the disciplines.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video from the Film Media Group's collection. Covers a wide variety of subject areas.