- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Film and Media Studies 294: Academic Internship
- Find Background Information
Film and Media Studies 294: Academic Internship
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Catalyst: Books, articles, scores, recordings
Want to find materials in specific formats? There are several ways to tell Catalyst what kind of material you want.
Use the buttons on the top: Make sure you are in the "Advanced Search" module of Catalyst. You can get there by clicking the "Advanced Search" button on the library's homepage. The "Audio/Visual" button along the top tells Catalyst you wants recordings. The "Books" button will search for both books and scores.
Use the Material Type menu: Make sure you are in the "Advanced Search" module of Catalyst. You can get there by clicking the "Advanced Search" button on the library's homepage. On the right is a section headed "Material Type." Click the dropdown menu to select the format you want. You can limit your search to scores, film/visual recordings, or sound recordings. This side menu will default to electronic recordings and videos; if you are looking for physical formats like CDs, use the top buttons instead.
A few more tips:
- Once you are in your results list, use the menu on the left to filter out whether you want physical materials or online materials.
- While Catalyst can be a good place to start your research, not all our online library resources will show up in your results, so be sure to check out the individual databases, too!
- Materials at Carleton may be requested directly from Catalyst and are delivered twice a day Monday through Friday!
Newspaper Databases
Databases aren't just for research papers! You can also use them to access recent news articles as well as gain access to business information.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
- BBC Monitoring Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text news coverage from over 150 countries, from state-owned, independent, and clandestine radio, television, press, internet, and news agency sources. Materials in languages other than English are translated. Covers materials published/broadcast 1996-present. Note: An optional, free personal account allows access to additional features (RSS feeds, site preferences, etc.).
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, plus full-text country economic reports from the EIU, market research reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Provides some full-text access to journal articles. Covers materials published 1965-present, with some coverage extending back to 1922.
- New York Times Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license access to New York Times Online.
Note: You will need to register the first time you access this site. If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button). - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
- Proquest Recent Newspapers: Star Tribune This link opens in a new windowThe full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent Star Tribune content.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
- Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license to the Wall Street Journal Online. Note: You will need to set up an account on the WSJ website because an individual site account is required to finish the registration.
Here is the complete list of news databases you can access through the Library, including historical news databases not listed above.
Research Databases
Cross-Disciplinary Databases
These databases cover a range of topics and are a great place to start if you want to find research in a variety of disciplines.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, book reviews, and other materials in the arts and humanities. Users can search for articles that cite a particular article or author. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.
Subject-Specific Databases
Click here for a sortable list of all the databases provided by St. Olaf Libraries. Use the " all subjects" menu at the top to find recommended databases for your research topic.
