New Music from Diverse Voices!

Asterisks (*) indicate pieces for intermediate players; other pieces are for advanced players.

• Memory book by T.J. Anderson (Black)
  • no recording available
•  26 etudes by H. Leslie Adams (Black)
  • Part 1 performed by Maria Corley
  • Part 2 performed by Thomas Otten
• Goodbye chorale by Theo Bleckmann (LGBTQIA+)
• Two works for solo piano by Margaret Bonds (woman, Black)
  • performed by Lara Downes
• From the Southland* by H.T. Burleigh (Black)
  • performed by Lara Downes
• Cantos populares by Carlos Guastavino (Argentina)
  • recording by Martin Jones
• Navajo piano by Connor Chee (Navajo)
  • performed by Connor Chee
• Weaving by Connor Chee (Navajo)
  • performed by Connor Chee
• Scenes from Dinétah by Connor Chee (Navajo)
  • performed by Connor Chee
• Singing in the mountain by Chen Yi (woman, China)
  • performed by Melody Chang
• Two bagatelles by Chen Yi (woman, China)
  • "Small Beijing gong" performed by Lillie Gardner 
• Variations on "Awariguli" by Chen Yi (woman, China)
  • performed by Sandra Ho-Suet Poon
• Portraits by Brittany J. Green (woman, Black)
  • performed by Brandon Banks
• Sonata no. 1 by Adolphus Hailstork (Black)
  • performed by Karen Walwyn
• Sonata no. 2 by Adolphus Hailstork (Black)
  • performed by Andrey Kasparov
• Piano stories by Joe Hisaishi (Japan)
  • performed by Joe Hisaishi
• Nora's dance by Nora Holt (woman, Black)
  • performed by Lara Downes
• 24 studies in African rhythm by Fred Onovwerosuoke (Ghana, Nigeria)
  • selections performed by Tatiana Shustova
• Fantasy by Barbara Pentland (woman)
  • no recording available
• Toccata by Barbara Pentland (woman)
  • no recording available
• Prelude and fugue for the left hand by Manuel Ponce (Mexico)
  • performed by Takeo Tchinai
• Prelude and fugue on a theme by Bach by Manuel Ponce (Mexico)
  • "Fugue" performed by Hector Rojas
• Prelude and fugue on a theme by Handel by Manuel Ponce (Mexico)
  • performed by David Witten
• Fantasie negré no. 2 by Florence Price (woman, Black)
  • performed by Samantha Ege
• Fantasie negré no. 4 by Florence Price (woman, Black)
  • performed by Lara Downes
• Sonata in e minor by Florence Price (woman, Black)
  • performed by Maria Corley
• Faces of jazz* by Hale Smith (Black)
  • "Off-beat shorty" and "My scarf is yellow" performed by Ben Steinhardt
• Lavender field by Karen Tanaka (woman, Japan)
  • performed by Signe Bakke
• Guido's hand by George Walker (Black)
  • performed by Jason Thomas (at 45:18)
• Piano sonata no. 1 by George Walker (Black)
  • performed by Steven Beck
• Piano sonata no. 2 by George Walker (Black)
  • performed by Steven Beck
• Piano sonata no. 5 by George Walker (Black)
  • performed by Steven Beck
• Variations on an Kentucky folksong by George Walker (Black)
  • performed by George Walker
• Pleiades dances I-IIa , Pleiades dances III-V, Pleiades dances VII-IX by Takashi Yoshimatsu (Japan)
  • selections from suites I-VII performed by Pascal Rogé

Anthologies

• African American folk songs collection,* arranged by Artina McClain (woman, Black)
• Four centuries of women composers* 
  • "In sylvan glade" by Clara Gottschalk Peterson performed by Emily Miller
• Piano music of Brazil
  • "Moda" by Oscar Lorenzo Fernandez (Brazil), performed by Romain Nosbaum

Facsimiles

• Das Jahr by Fanny Hensel geb. Mendelssohn Bartholdy (woman)
  • performed by Els Biesemans

Asterisks (*) indicate pieces for intermediate players; other pieces are for advanced players.

• Allegro giocoso by Cedric Adderley (African American) (2 players, 2 pianos)
  • performed by the Adderley-Holliday Piano Duo
• Hamilton* by Lin-Manuel Miranda (Latinx, Puerto Rico) (2 players, 1 piano)
• Suite burlesque* by Germaine Tailleferre (woman) (2 players, 1 piano)
  • performed by Renato Maioli and Aldo Orvieto

• The mission (part 1) by Theo Bleckmann (LGBTQIA+), for voice, electric guitar, piano
  • no recording available
• Three pieces by Rebecca Clarke (woman) for 2 violins, piano
  • performed by Simon Callaghan, Midori Komachi, and Sophie Rosa
• Freedmen of the five civilized tribes by Valerie Coleman (Black) for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano
  • performed by New Music Detroit
• Quintet in G minor, op. 1 by Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (Black, England) for piano, 2 violins, viola, cello
  • performed by Stewart Goodyear and the Catalyst Quartet
• Tambour battant by Yvonne Desportes (woman) for multipercussion and piano
  • no recording available
• Three little pieces for Eve by Gareth Farr (New Zealand, LGBTQIA+) for multipercussion and piano
  • no recording available
• Black birds, red hills by Libby Larsen (woman) for clarinet, viola, piano
  • performed by Caroline Hartig, David Harding, and Kevin Purrone
• Ferlinghetti by Libby Larsen (woman) for clarinet, viola, piano
  • performed by Kennan White, Dave Holland, and Casey Robards
• Rodeo queen of heaven by Libby Larsen (woman) for clarinet, violin, cello, piano
  • performed by enhakē
• Panta rhei by Ursula Mamlok (woman) for piano trio
  • performed by Susanne Zapf, Cosima Gerhardt, and Heather O'Donnell
• Still life with avalanche by Missy Mazzoli (woman) for flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, cello
  • performed by eighth blackbird
• Thousandth orange by Caroline Shaw (woman) for violin, viola, cello, piano
  • performed by the Rothko Collective
• Seven episodes by Louise Talma (woman) for flute, viola, piano
  • performed by Diana Ambache, Martin Outram, and Daniel Pailthorpe
• Nordic suite by Barbara York (woman) for trombone, tuba, piano
  • performed by Dale Sorensen, Jonathan Roswell, and Vanessa May-lok Lee (tracks 11-15)

For scores referring to specific albums, links to licensed recordings are provided when available.

• The Count Basie collection by Count Basie (Black)
• Hollywood Africans by Jon Batiste (Black)
  • performed by Jon Batiste
• Bebop piano legends
• Blues piano legends
• The Cyrus Chestnut collection by Cyrus Chestnut (Black)
• Storyville presents Duke Ellington by Duke Ellington (Black)
• Concert by the sea by Erroll Garner (Black)
  • performed by Erroll Garner
• The Herbie Hancock collection by Herbie Hancock (Black)
• The Hampton Hawes collection by Hampton Hawes (Black)
• The Ahmad Jamal collection by Ahmad Jamal (Black)
• Thelonious Monk plays standards, vol. 2 by Thelonious Monk (Black)
• Jelly Roll Morton: the piano rolls by Jelly Roll Morton (Black)
• Jazz portrait of Frank Sinatra by Oscar Peterson (Black, Canada)
  • performed by Oscar Peterson
• Night train by Oscar Peterson (Black, Canada)
  • performed by Oscar Peterson
• Oscar Peterson originals by Oscar Peterson (Black, Canada)
• Oscar Peterson trios by Oscar Peterson (Black, Canada)
• The Bud Powell collection by Bud Powell (Black)
• The Gonzalo Rubalcaba collection by Gonzalo Rubalcaba (Cuba)
• The Art Tatum collection by Art Tatum (Black)
• The Billy Taylor collection by Billy Taylor (Black)
• Place to be by Hiromi Uehara (woman, Japan)
  • performed by Hiromi Uehara
• The Cedar Walton collection by Cedar Walton (Black)