- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- RAMAT 110: Race Matters, First Year Seminar
- Find Primary Sources
RAMAT 110: Race Matters, First Year Seminar
LibKey Nomad
Resource Sharing Librarian
In Catalyst
There are 2 basic ways that you can search for primary literature in Catalyst:
1. Along with your basic keywords, use terms that point to primary sources such as:
- diaries
- correspondence
- letters
- pamphlets
- documents
- speeches
- manuscripts
- personal narratives
- interviews
2. Perform a search in Catalyst with basic keywords for your topic, find the Genre/Form set of filters to the left of your search results and open that group; check to see if there are any terms there that would point to a primary source and click on that filter OR click on the Sources filter and see if that leads you to a primary source.
Find Primary Sources in Library Databases
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources illuminating African American history and culture. Includes scholarly books and articles, oral histories, slave narratives, images, speeches, a historical timeline, teaching resources, and more.
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources on Latino/a history and culture in the US, from pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations to the contemporary period. Includes images, maps, speeches, letter, legal cases, treaties, encyclopedia articles, a timeline, and other materials in English and Spanish.
- Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of TIME Magazine from 1923-2000. A chronicle of 20th-century history, current events, business and politics.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowContains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out is included.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources in US women's history, 1600-2000. Includes primary documents in many genres, images, a biographical dictionary, a dictionary of social movements/organizations, a timeline, and teaching resources.
- Women's Magazine Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowWomen's Magazine Archive offers consumer magazines aimed at a female readership. Recognized as primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture.