- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Music 135: Race in 20th Century Music
- Secondary Sources (Books, Journal Articles, Etc.)
Music 135: Race in 20th Century Music
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
General Databases
These databases cover a wide range of subjects and topics, so they are good to use if you are just starting out or if you are looking for interdisciplinary material to provide broad context.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.
Music Databases
The music-specific databases are mostly good for secondary sources -- but some of them have articles dating back to the 19th century that could be used as primary sources.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowCovers material since 1970. Best for popular music topics, especially in industry magazines like Downbeat or Rolling Stone. Less good for scholarly articles.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on music. Covers materials published 1874-present. Does not include books.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on the performing arts; more theater and dance than music.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowIndexes scholarly and popular music journals and books.