English 123: Introduction to Poetry

The Cambridge Companions are introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, and each title is supported by reference features such as a chronology and guide to further reading.

Poems (over 250,000 full text, plus more citations), supplemented by full-text introductory essays in literary history, poets' biographies, commentaries, a glossary, and audio files of poems read aloud. Includes poems in English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and other modern and ancient languages.

Full-text author biographies with critical overviews of major works plus lists of secondary sources for further research. Discusses literary authors working across genres and historical periods (classical to contemporary). Covers criticism published 1978-present.

Online version of the complete Oxford English Dictionary. The OED includes current definitions but is also a historical dictionary, allowing users to trace the changing meanings of words through the centuries. Also available in print.

Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

Encompasses Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, LitFinder, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Authors in a unified interface.

Full-text primary and secondary sources in literary studies. Primary materials include British and American poetry from the eighth century to the contemporary period, drama from 1280 to 1915, and prose from 1500 to 1914, plus streaming video of poets reading poetry and dramatized audio recordings of Shakespeare's plays. Secondary materials include major dictionaries and encyclopedias in literary studies, author bibliographies, and scholarly journal articles.

Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Covers materials published 1923-present.

Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and provides a simple interface for accessing full-text content, tracking citations, and citing sources.

Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Includes 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text. Covers materials published 1971-present.