History 320: Queer and Trans Lives
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
What is a primary source
Primary sources are immediate, first-hand accounts of a topic, from people who had a direct connection with it. Newspapers, letters, diaries, government reports, images, etc., can all be considered primary sources. These sources are published and shared in a variety of ways. See below for some suggestions for finding primary sources:
- In Catalyst, search for the person you are studying and include words like letters, diary, correspondence, interview, autobiograpphy, etc. as keywords
- In Catalyst, search for the person you are studying. When the results appear, look to the left and scroll down to the category of filters called Genre/Form. Open this set of filters and look for terms that would point to a primary source.
- On the open web search for the person you are studying and use some of the same words as above but also use words like archive or museum.
Catalyst Books Search
Digital Collections/Archives with Primary Sources
Gale Primary Sources: Archives of Sexuality and Gender (requires Catalyst login): “The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
GLBT Historical Society Archives “Founded in 1985, the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (GLBT) Historical Society is recognized internationally as a leader in the field of LGBTQ public history.” “Archival materials are made available solely for educational and research purposes. While many of our materials are suitable for all ages, some of our resources may contain sexually explicit content.”
OutHistory “OutHistory is a public history website that aims to generate, present, and promote high-quality evidence-based LGBTQ historical research for LGBTQ and general audiences.”
Library of Congress LGBTQIA+ Studies Resource Guide “The collections of the Library of Congress tell the rich and diverse story of LGBTQ+ life in America and around the world. This research guide serves as an introduction into the excellent collection of LGBTQ+ resources available at the Library of Congress.”
June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives “The June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives is one of the largest archives in the world dedicated to collecting, protecting, and preserving Lesbian, feminist, and queer women’s history.”
Lesbian Herstory Archives “Since 1979, the Lesbian Herstory Archives has collected personal papers and organizational records donated by Lesbian individuals and groups. The more than four hundred collections that compose the Archives’ Special Collections help document and preserve a diverse cross section of Lesbian herstory.”
Digital Transgender Archive “The DTA is a curated collection of pre-2000 archival materials relevant to global transgender history…[including] materials about self-identified trans people, transsexuality, genders outside of western binaries, and a diverse range of gender nonconforming identities, practices, and experiences.”
Archivo de la Memoria Trans “Argentine trans community archive dedicated to compiling and recovering the history and cultural heritage of transgender, transsexual and travesti people in the country”
The University of Winnipeg Two-Spirit Archives “The Two-Spirit Archives consists of newsletters, journals, magazines, reports, newspaper clippings, correspondence, poetry, photographs, posters, art, textiles, books, videocassettes, and other ephemera that document the Indigenous Two-Spirit movement in Manitoba and throughout North America. It is believed to be the most comprehensive collection of material on Two-Spirit people in Canada.”
New East Digital Archive: Being LGBTQ “Being LGBTQ is a major new series from The Calvert Journal exploring and celebrating LGBTQ life in the culture and politics of the New East…feature art, film, photography, fiction and music from across the LGBTQ spectrum, past and present: from clubbing in Tbilisi to Central Asian sci-fi; from the art of the Berlin Wall to the lurid world of turbofolk; from celebration of queer potential to mourning for lost time and lost friends.”
Forum Queeres Archiv München “The Forum Queer Archive sees itself as the “memory” of the LGBTIQ* community.” “We have made it our mission to collect, promote and make accessible contributions and insights into the everyday life, culture and history of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transsexual, intersexual and queer people in Munich and the region.”
Magnus Hirschfeld Society “The Magnus Hirschfeld Society was founded in 1982 in (West) Berlin to research and preserve the scientific and cultural heritage of the sex researcher Magnus Hirschfeld (1868–1935) and its Institute of Sexology (1919–1933).”
Schwules Museum “Berlin's Gay Museum (Schwules Museum) is one of the world's largest and most important institutions focusing on the broad range of human sexual identities and gender concepts.”
Spinnboden Lesbenarchiv “For several decades, we have been documenting the change and diversity of lesbians' self-conceptions, cultures and politics, and at the same time offer a lesbian-feminist-queer community site in Berlin. Our collections include holdings of and about lesbian life under the motto "Every lesbian is important" – be it from individuals, institutions, groups and/or related communities. We collect everything from the subcultural remarks around 1900 to the political activities in the 1970s to current lesbian, queer and feminist struggles.”
Archives Portal Europe “Archives Portal Europe provides you with a single access to find, browse and discover information on archives about Europe held by thousands of cultural heritage institutions from more than 30 countries.”
Europeana “The Europeana website provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with access to Europe's digital cultural heritage.”
Invisible Histories Digital Collections “Invisible Histories, a community based archive, preserves, researches, and creates educational, community-centered content about the rich and diverse history of LGBTQ people, places, and events in the US South. Invisible Histories is a repository for the experiences and culture of Queer and Trans people in the region.”
New York Public Library Gay and Lesbian Collections & AIDS/HIV Collections “The Manuscripts and Archives Division of the New York Public Library holds over 100 collections pertaining to the history and culture of gay men and lesbians, and to the history of the AIDS/HIV epidemic. Gay and lesbian history and AIDS history are not a single subject; however, because of their interrelationships, both types of collections are included in this guide.”
ONE Archives at the USC Libraries “The collections at ONE Archives at the USC Libraries are primarily national in scope, with special focus on LGBTQ histories in the Los Angeles region. The archives also include a number of international materials, such as books, periodicals, and posters.”
The Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection “The Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection is the largest archival repository of LGBTQ history in the Midwest…The collection is national and international in scope (featuring materials in approximately 60 languages), but is especially strong in materials documenting the history of LGBTQ people, organizations, and communities in the Twin Cities, Minnesota, and across the broader Midwest.”
The ArQuives: Canada’s LGBTQ2+ Archives “The ArQuives works to preserve and make accessible Canadian LGBTQ2+ histories.”