FYS 120J: Approaches to Decolonial Love

This guide highlights tips, tricks, and resources for your teaching and zine projects in FYS 121.

LibKey Nomad

they/them

Contact:

302 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

It's important to familiarize yourself with a topic before you begin doing more specific and extensive research.

Background research will help you:

Narrow your topic and focus your research question
Find historical information, trends, agreements and disagreements, related to the topic, and uncovers gaps in your knowledge
Learn the context of a topic -- the who, what, when, where, why, and how
Uncover keywords you can use to do more extensive research
Find additional sources on your topic

CQ Researcher
Full-text reports on current issues including health issues, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Includes background information, overviews, pros and cons, and sources for further research. Covers materials published 1991-present.
Credo Reference
Offers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
MasterFile Complete
Offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.