- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Writing 120K: Stories We Tell About Climate
- Learn about your topic
Writing 120K: Stories We Tell About Climate
This guide is designed to help you find resources for your research essay.
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Per the Puffin
they/them
Contact:
302 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
Why do background research?
It's important to familiarize yourself with a topic before you begin doing more specific and extensive research.
Background research will help you:
- Narrow your topic and focus your research question
- Find historical information, trends, agreements and disagreements, related to the topic, and uncovers gaps in your knowledge
- Learn the context of a topic -- the who, what, when, where, why, and how
- Uncover keywords you can use to do more extensive research
- Find additional sources on your topic
Useful Reference Books
-
The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health
by
ISBN: 9781410388230Publication Date: 2018-08-01"Contains over 280 entries on environmental health. Topics include significant historic and current natural and manmade events, public health terms, diseases and conditions related to the environment, and organizations and legislation"-- -
Global Public Health and Disease Control, 1st Ed
by
ISBN: 9780780819641Publication Date: 2021-07-30Omnigraphics' Health Reference Series is designed for the general reader seeking guidance on how to avoid serious illness by following preventive lifestyles and recognizing early warning signs. It also supports the layperson who has received a diagnosis of a serious disease or disorder as well as the family member or nonprofessional caregiver who must learn to care and to cope with the illness. -
Guide to U. S. Environmental Policy
by
ISBN: 9781452270753Publication Date: 2014-08-21Guide to U.S. Environmental Policy provides the analytical connections showing readers how issues and actions are translated into public policies and persistent institutions for resolving or managing environmental conflict in the U.S. The guide highlights a complex decision-making cycle that requires the cooperation of government, business, and an informed citizenry to achieve a comprehensive approach to environmental protection. -
Encyclopaedia of Human Rights in the United States, 2 Volume Set
by
ISBN: 9781682173466Publication Date: 2017-11-30This indispensable resource surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures.
Reference Databases
-
CQ ResearcherFull-text reports on current issues including health issues, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Includes background information, overviews, pros and cons, and sources for further research. Covers materials published 1991-present.
-
Credo ReferenceOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.