Art 257: The Expanding Renaissance

LibKey Nomad

Librarian

Sara Lynnore

she/they

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Memorial Library (RML) 477

507-786-3731

Why Use Journal Databases?

Catalyst can help you find scholarly articles, but sometimes it is more efficient to work in a subject-specific database. Here are a few that could help with your StoryMaps!

Art Journal Databases

Art Index This link opens in a new window
Art history research and reviews published since 1984.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new window
Like Art Index, but covers material published 1929-1984.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Our go-to art encyclopedia. Many articles have useful bibliographies.
JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
Looking for images to compare with your items? Search JSTOR images (formerly ArtStor).
ARTstor's repository of hundreds of thousands of images, including art, architecture, design, is now part of JSTOR.

History Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Online resources in medieval and Renaissance studies, 400-1700. Collections include both primary and secondary sources.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.