Music 263/264: Lyric Diction
Research Guide for Lyric Diction
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
IPA Source
Your go-to resource for diction questions is IPA Source.
- IPA Source This link opens in a new windowInternational Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias, art songs, and Latin sacred texts.
Dictionaries
Collins German-English, English-German DictionaryCall Number: Rolvaag Ref: PF3640 .C68 1999Available in print.
The Oxford German Dictionary and GrammarCall Number: Rolvaag Ref: PF3640 .O95 2001Available in print.
Pocket Oxford German Dictionary : German-EnglishAvailable online.
Resources About Diction
Books about diction are filed under call numbers beginning MT883. Here are some recommended books about German diction.
Diction for Singers: A Concise Reference for English, Italian, Latin, German, French, and Spanish PronunciationCall Number: Music Ref: MT883 .W35 2012Available in print.
A Handbook of Diction for Singers: Italian, German, FrenchCall Number: MT883 .A23 2008Available in print.
Pronunciation Guide for The Lieder AnthologyCall Number: M1619 .L533Available in print.
Supplement to the Lieder Anthology (ML M1619 .L53).
The Use of the International Phonetic Alphabet in the Choral RehearsalCall Number: MT875 .U74 2012Available online. Includes chapters on a wide variety of global languages.
Online Resources
- Cambridge DictionaryOnline bilingual dictionaries between multiple languages and English.
- leo.orgOnline German-English dictionary. Better than Google translate for slang.
- Collins Online: German-EnglishOnline German-English dictionary.