English 205: American Racial and Multicultural Literatures

Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations in literary studies, folklore, languages, and linguistics. Covers materials published 1923-present.

Full-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.

Full-text primary and secondary sources illuminating African American history and culture. Includes scholarly books and articles, oral histories, slave narratives, images, speeches, a historical timeline, teaching resources, and more.

Scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history and culture from prehistory to the contemporary period. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1964-present.

Full-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.

Full-text primary and secondary sources in literary studies. Primary materials include British and American poetry from the eighth century to the contemporary period, drama from 1280 to 1915, and prose from 1500 to 1914, plus streaming video of poets reading poetry and dramatized audio recordings of Shakespeare's plays. Secondary materials include major dictionaries and encyclopedias in literary studies, author bibliographies, and scholarly journal articles.

Full-text primary and secondary sources illuminating African American history and culture. Includes scholarly books and articles, oral histories, slave narratives, images, speeches, a historical timeline, teaching resources, and more.

Primary and secondary sources in Black studies, including: introductory essays (full text), scholarly journal articles and magazine articles (some full-text access; covers articles published 1900-present), literary materials in Black newspapers and magazines (covers fiction, poetry, and reviews published 1827-1940), and digitized Black newspapers (covers materials published 1910-1993).

Primary sources focusing on interactions between Indigenous Peoples in North American and European colonists.

Full-text primary and secondary sources on Latino/a history and culture in the US, from pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations to the contemporary period. Includes images, maps, speeches, letter, legal cases, treaties, encyclopedia articles, a timeline, and other materials in English and Spanish.

Primary source materials on Native American history, including photos, census documents, and treaties.

Primary source material on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America during three pivotal decades of the twentieth century.

Includes collections of books, serials, and primary sources on "the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions."