- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- FYS 120T: Life on the Hill
- Background Research
FYS 120T: Life on the Hill
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
Online Sources
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
Rolvaag Reference Room
21st Century Education: a Reference HandbookCall Number: Rolvaag Ref: LA210 .A15 200821st Century Education: A Reference Handbook offers 100 chapters written by leading experts in the field that highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates facing educators today. This comprehensive and authoritative two-volume work provides undergraduate education majors with insight into the rich array of issues inherent in education--issues informing debates that involve all Americans.
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of EducationCall Number: Rolvaag Ref: LB17 .E53 2009More than any other field in education, the social and cultural foundations of education reflect many of the conflicts, tensions, and forces in American society. This is hardly surprising, since the area focuses on issues such as race, gender, socioeconomic class, the impact of technology on learning, what it means to be educated, and the role of teaching and learning in a societal context. The Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education.
Encyclopedia of Applied EthicsCall Number: Rolvaag Ref: BJ63 .E44 1998Applied ethics, a subdiscipline of philosophy, lends itself to an encyclopedia format because of the many industries and intellectual fields that it encompasses. The Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics is based on twelve major categories, such as Biomedical Ethics and Environmental Ethics. Religious traditions that embody normative beliefs, as well as classical theories of ethics, are explored in a non-judgmental manner.
