Skip to Main Content

History 123: The World Wars

LibKey Nomad

Research Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag 303

507.786.3793

Subjects: American Studies, Business and Management Studies, Classics, French, German, Greek, History, Latin, Linguistic Studies, Middle East Studies, Norwegian, Philosophy, Religion, Russian, Spanish

Background

Often times the best place to start your research is with reference materials. This can include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. These sources can launch you into the material by:

Giving you a broad overview of your topic area
Introducing you to vocabulary or concepts you hadn't already considered
Discovering key sources and scholars by checking the bibliography at the end of an article

Virtual Sources

Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Credo Reference
Offers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.

In the Rolvaag Reference Room

The Encyclopedia of World War I [5 Volumes]
Call Number: Rolvaag Ref: D510 .E53 2005
The European Powers in the First World War
Call Number: Rolvaag Ref: D510 .E97 1996
World War II in Europe
Call Number: Rolvaag Ref: D740 .W67 1999
American Women During World War II
Call Number: Rolvaag Ref: D810 .W7 W435 2010

Online but also available in paper.
The Holocaust Encyclopedia
Online