FYS 120E: Who is Science For?

LibKey Nomad

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

507-786-3658

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Chemistry/Biology, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics

Find (articles from) health organizations and pro-/anti-vaccination organizations

Immunize.org and Immunize.org Partners
Immunize.org is a nonprofit which "work[s] to ensure that healthcare professionals and the public are up to date on all aspects of vaccination and advocate for policies that remove barriers to vaccination." In addition to exploring their website, you may want to look at some of their partner organizations, linked above.
World Health Organization: Vaccine Safety Net
"The Vaccine Safety Net is a global network of websites, established by the World Health Organization, that provides reliable information on vaccine safety."
Wikipedia: List of anti-vaccination groups
"A list of groups who are anti-vaccine, vaccine-critical, or vaccine hesitant."

Find Popular Articles in Newspapers and Magazines

Academic Search Premier
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
ProQuest Research Library
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Includes 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text. Covers materials published 1971-present.

Find Scholarly Articles in Peer-Reviewed Journals

Academic Search Premier
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and provides a simple interface for accessing full-text content, tracking citations, and citing sources.
PsycINFO
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
Social Science Premium Collection
The Social Science Premium Collection from ProQuest includes international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. This collection contains databases such as the Sociology Database, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, Political Science Database, PAIS Index, PolicyFile, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Criminal Justice Database, Library Science Database, LISA, Education Database, ERIC and Linguistics Database.