SOAN 121C&D: Introduction to Sociology
LibKey Nomad
Director of Research & Instructional Technology
Which citation style do I use?
Use the style you are most comfortable with!
The key is staying consistent.
For example: If you choose to use APA, you should use APA throughout the entirety of a project and ensure that your in-text citations and your references page are all consistent within a single citation style.
Below are tools you can use for citing in APA, Chicago, and MLA style.
American Psychological Association (APA) Style, 7th Edition
-
APA 7th Quick Reference Guidefrom the American Psychological Association
-
APA Style GuideFrom Santa Fe College
-
ZoteroBibPaste a link, DOI, or title, choose your citation style, and ZoteroBib will generate a citation for you to copy and paste. Remember, you will still need to check your citations for accuracy.
Chicago Style
-
Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed.
University of Chicago Press, 2017 | Online Access
-
Chicago Formatting and Style GuideFrom Purdue University's Online Writing and Style Guide
• Author-Date Style Sample Paper
• Notes and Bibliography Style Sample Paper
-
Chicago Notes and Bibliography Style, 17th ed.From Williams College
-
Chicago Author-Date Style, 17th ed.From Williams College
-
QuickCiteFrom University of Auckland
Modern Language Association (MLA) Style, 9th edition
-
MLA Handbook, 9th edition
Print copies of the MLA Handbook, 9th edition.
-
MLA Handbook Plus Online This link opens in a new windowMLA Handbook is the go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources. MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook and additional material, including other MLA guides and instructor resources.
-
MLA 9th Edition Formatting and Style GuideFrom Purdue University's Online Writing Lab
-
ZoteroBibPaste a link, DOI, or title, choose your citation style, and ZoteroBib will generate a citation for you to copy and paste. Remember, you will still need to check your citations for accuracy.