- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- FYS 120V: Global Folktales
- Find Background Information
FYS 120V: Global Folktales
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Molecular Discovery, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics and Data Science
Searchable collections of online encyclopedias
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Encyclopedias of Folklore
-
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales [3 Volumes]
by
Call Number: Rolvaag Reference Room, GR74 .G73 2008Publication Date: 2008Includes a broad, multicultural survey of folk and fairy tales from around the world. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries written by numerous expert contributors. Entries cover themes and motifs, individuals, characters and character types, national traditions, genres, and a range of other topics. -
Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature
by
Call Number: Rolvaag Reference Room, PN41 .E48 1998Publication Date: 1998The Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature introduces readers to a selection of authors, characters, themes, works, and movements associated with folklore and literature from around the world.
Books about mermaids
-
Scaled for Success
by
Publication Date: 2018Scaled for Success offers the first detailed overview of the mermaid's dispersal outside Europe. Complementing previous studies of the interrelationship between the mermaid and Mami Wata spirit in West Africa, this volume addresses the mermaid's presence in a range of Middle Eastern, Asian, Australian, Latin American and North American contexts. -
Merpeople: A Human History
by
Publication Date: 2020Traces the long history of mermaids using a wide variety of sources.
Wise Wikipedia Use
- Wikipedia
"The free encyclopedia that anyone can edit."
Tips for Wise Wikipedia Use
- Be aware that anyone can edit entries in Wikipedia.
- Consider it as a starting point for research; get to know your topic and identify important keywords.
- Look for references to reliable, published sources (in the References or Bibliography sections).
- Pay attention to the alert boxes and symbols. "Featured Articles" have a star to indicate their high quality; articles that are in need of updating (e.g. citation needed, newly available information, relies too much on primary sources) will be marked at the top of the page.
Useful Wikipedia Pages
-
Wikipedia: Folklore by CountryA list of Wikipedia pages; each page that is linked focuses on the folklore of a specific country.
-
Wikipedia: MermaidThe Wikipedia article for mermaids includes sections about mermaid folklore from various parts of the world.