- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- English 291: Creative Nonfiction Writing
- Explore Online Resources
English 291: Creative Nonfiction Writing
LibKey Nomad
Librarian
Audrey Gunn
Contact:
304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
507-786-3658
Website
Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Molecular Discovery, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics and Data Science
Searching for Collections Online
If the topic you're interested in is not covered in the resources below, you may want to try searching the internet. Here are some search terms to try out:
Your Topic + ...
- Digital Archive
- Digital Collection
- LibGuide
LibGuides is the brand name of the program used to create research guides like this one. It's used by thousands of libraries, meaning that you can often find a librarian somewhere who has created a guide on the general topic you're interested in. When using LibGuides from other schools, keep in mind that we may not have access to all of their paywalled resources, like ebooks or databases.
You might also try searching by Top-Level Domain (TLD). TLDs go at the end of a domain name -- think .edu, .gov, and .com. Some of these domains are restricted; for example, .gov can only be used by U.S. government organizations. Therefore, if you want to find resources from the U.S. government (for example), you can tell Google to only show you search results that use .gov as their TLD. Here's how to do it:
site:.gov Your Topic
You can also do this with an entire web address:
site:stolaf.edu Your Topic
Research Databases: Find Scholarship by Discipline
-
All St. Olaf Libraries DatabasesBrowse or search a list of 300+ research databases provided by the St. Olaf Libraries. You can also filter your results to find databases recommended for a specific academic discipline or type of source (articles, images, audio, etc.)
Current Newspapers and Magazines
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
-
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
-
Minnesota Star Tribune This link opens in a new windowAccess to the current Star Tribune two different ways. Access requirements have changed and now can access either on campus (IP based/no login/no registration) or register with St. Olaf email address for seamless on and off campus access. Archives searchable back through 2005. Please use ProQuest Historical Newspapers. for earlier content. Click "more..." below for access information.
-
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
-
New York Times Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic site license access to New York Times Online.
Note: You will need to register the first time you access this site. If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button).
Map Collections
-
Harvard Map Collection"Thousands of the Harvard Map Collection's maps and atlases from around the world are available online in hi-res."
-
Historical Maps at the Hargrett Library, University of GeorgiaCollection of more than 800 historic maps spanning nearly 500 years, from the sixteenth century through the early twentieth century.
-
Library of Congress Collections with MapsSearch by keyword or browse by collection.
-
Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionThe premier scholarly collection of over 11,000 digitized maps.
Digital Archives
-
Accessible Archives Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to primary source materials and newspapers from 18th & 19th century America. The collection includes: letters, advertisements, editorials, sketches, county records, complete runs of important periodicals and much more. Titles of interest include: The Pennsylvania Gazette, the Virginia Gazette, The South Carolina Gazette,Godey's Lady Book, and The North Star.
-
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922 This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets and broadsides that hold a record of African American history, literature and culture. This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century.
-
China: Culture and Society This link opens in a new windowSpanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.
-
The Cornell University Witchcraft Collection"While the entire physical Witchcraft Collection is available for in-person research in Cornell Library’s Rare and Manuscript Division, 104 English language books from the collection can be read online in the Digital Witchcraft Collection."
-
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowDigitized English-language books published between 1473 and 1700, including works of literature, religious texts, government documents, scholarly works, and much more.
-
HathiTrust"HathiTrust was founded in 2008 as a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries now preserving 18+ million digitized items in the HathiTrust Digital Library." Check out the Featured Collections section of the homepage for a sense of the types of resources they offer.
-
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources on Latino/a history and culture in the US, from pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations to the contemporary period. Includes images, maps, speeches, letter, legal cases, treaties, encyclopedia articles, a timeline, and other materials in English and Spanish.
-
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new windowMedieval Travel Writing provides direct access to a widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages.
-
National Geographic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowFeaturing the complete archive of the magazine to the mid-1990s, this database includes every page and every photograph.
-
Student Activism This link opens in a new windowVoices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.
-
Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of TIME Magazine from 1923-2000. A chronicle of 20th-century history, current events, business and politics.
-
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowContains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out is included.
-
Even More Digital ArchivesA complete list of the digital archives available through the St. Olaf Libraries.