Dance 100: Introduction to Dance

As you use these website or other online materials, be sure to evaluate them carefully. Use the tips in "Evaluating Sources with Accord" tab.

American Ballet Theatre
Consult the "repertory archives" section under the "Explore" tab for excellent information on choreographers, composers, and individual ballets (including premieres and plot synopses).

Dance Heritage Coalition
A nonprofit cooperative group of institutions with significant collections of historical dance materials.

George Balanchine Foundation
Includes an index to the Balanchine video archives at the New York Public Library.

Jacob's Pillow
Website for the festival first started by Ted Shawn and Ruth St. Denis, with both historical and contemporary video excerpts.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
In addition to the American Memory collections, the Library of Congress has a rich variety of digitized materials on dance.

Merce Cunningham Trust
Information about current activities as well as links to Cunningham's digital archives at the New York Public Library.

New York Public Library -- Jerome Robbins Dance Division
The NYPL digital collections include oral interviews with dancers, dance photographs, and other materials. Most of the videos are not licensed to be viewed anywhere but at the New York Public Library, but this is still an excellent resource for photographs and text-based materials.

New York Public Library - Libguide for Systemic Racism, Protests, and Dance
A guide focusing on conducting research on racism and protests through a dance lens.

Sapphire Swan Dance Directory
This list of dance websites offers suggestions to begin browsing the Internet for information on your topic. Be careful, however: many of the links are out of date. Look under “Dance Styles" to find specific topics.