LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
The Essentials
How do I use these essential sources?
Use these dictionaries and encyclopedias to establish the context of the passage you have chosen. The Anchor Bible Dictionary and New Interpreters Dictionary have excellent articles on every book of the bible. These articles will give you information about literary genres, what scholars theorize about authorship, social-historical context, etc. You can also look up biblical place names, characters in the bible, theological concepts and much more.
Harpercollins Bible DictionaryRolvaag Ref: BS440 .H235 2011
Eerdmans Dictionary of the BibleRolvaag Ref: BS440 .E44 2000
The Anchor Bible Dictionary (6 vol. set)Rolvaag Ref: BS440 .A54 1992
Now also available online
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible (5 vol. set)Rolvaag Ref: BS440 .I7 2006
Some specialized sources for background
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the BibleRolvaag Ref: BS440 .D495 2005
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its ReceptionRolvaag Ref: BS440 .E539 2009
The EBR "pursues the twofold task of (1) comprehensively recording . . . the current knowledge of the origins and development of the Bible in its Jewish and Christian canonical forms and (2) documenting the history of the Bible's reception in Judaism and Christianity as evident in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and contemporary movements." -- EBR Introduction
Ancient Near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament with SupplementRolvaag Ref: BS1180 .P96 1969
Use this source to compare biblical writings to other texts from the ancient Near East.
Encyclopedia JudaicaRolvaag Ref: DS102.8 .E52 2007
This 22 volume set is the most comprehensive resource on Jewish religion, history and culture.
