Theater 180: Text and Performance
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Encyclopedia Databases for Theater Studies
- World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAnnotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and the present.
- North American Theatre Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre: some 40,000 pages of major reference materials. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
Production history, performance, playwrights, theorists, directors, etc.
The Cambridge History of American TheatreCall Number: Ref: PN2221 .C37 1998A wide-ranging history of American theatre in all its dimensions, from theatre building to play writing, directors, performers, and designers. Available in print or online.
Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century TheatreContains over 2,500 entries on 20th century theater around the world. Available online.
Encyclopedia of Asian TheatreCall Number: Reference PN2860 .E53 2007A detailed and authoritative survey of traditional and contemporary Asian theatre. Available in print.
The Oxford Companion to Indian TheatreAn encyclopedia of both rural and urban modes of Indian theatre spanning its entire history of over 2000 years. Available online.
The Oxford Companion to the American MusicalCall Number: Music Ref: ML102.M88 H593 2008Offers a wealth of information on musicals, performers, composers, lyricists, producers, choreographers, and much more. Available in print or online.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and PerformanceCall Number: Ref: PN2035 .O92 2003Provides information across the broad sweep of theatrical activity, from ancient Greek drama to the latest developments in stage design. Available in print or online.
This is only a sample of the theater reference works the library offers. Search for (theater OR theatre) AND encyclopedia and the geographic region that interests you for more!
