Music 237: Local & Global Musicking

Initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College, this is a prime research tool for students of theatre and the performing arts.

Full-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on the performing arts. Covers materials published 1864-present.

Magazine and journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, news items, obituaries, and other materials on classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. Covers materials published 1970-present. Also available in print.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, a bibliography of music articles, collections, and books, offers researchers and music scholars thousands of records in music research. Records are added and updated on a monthly basis.

Over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata.

A cross search of all the streaming audio provided by Alexander Street Press.

Streaming audio of classical music, plus some world music and jazz. Includes brief discussions of the works and biographical information on composers and artists.

Streaming audio of music, spoken word (including speeches and readings of literary texts), and sounds. Coverage crosses geographic areas and historical periods.

Streaming video of dance performances and documentaries. Includes materials recorded 1955-present.

A wide range of videos on topics including music and the arts.

Documentary footage of music and dance from around the world on the Anthropology channel of Academic Video Online.

A DVD collection of documentary footage of music and dance. Not the same as the JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance. Ask for them by call number at the Music Library Circulation Desk.