Music Subject Guide

Learn how to search for music in our collection, access streaming media, begin basic research, and more!

Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Christiansen Hall of Music 147 (Music Library)
& Rolvaag Library 306

507-786-3362

Subjects: Art and Art History, Dance, Music, Theater

A-R Online Music Anthology -- contains music from antiquity through the romantic era, with extensive contents for the Middle Ages, Renaissance, and Baroque.
Classical Scores Library -- western art music scores and manuscripts, Renaissance to contemporary periods.

IMSLP -- aka, the Petrucci Music Library; access to public domain scores. Please note that "public domain" varies by country; you may not be able to access a score if it is not PD in the United States. Always consult your studio instructor to make sure you are playing from a reliable edition.
ChoralWiki -- home of the Choral Public Domain Library (like IMSLP, but for choral music)
Sheet Music Consortium -- online index of sheet music, include popular song, from various libraries; a great resource for public domain popular music scores.
Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection -- sheet music at Johns Hopkins University
Internet Archive -- many libraries and collectors post digitized sheet music to the Internet Archive; a good resource for popular music scores in the public domain

LiederNet Archive-- texts and translations for art songs; you will need permission to include them in your recital notes.
Song Helix -- search for art songs by range, theme, voice type, composer demographic, etc.

Hymnary.org -- What's the history of the hymn? Which tune goes with which text? Which hymnals have this hymn? A go-to source for church musicians.
Library of Congress Digital Collections -- includes many collections pertaining to music, including their Aaron Copland collection
Global Music Archive - -from Vanderbilt University, a multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas