Research Librarian
Basic Sources for Classics
LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics. 14v. [Reference: P29 .E48 2006]
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages. [Reference: P371 .C357 2004]
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. [PA31 .H69 1989] or online version
Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome. 2v. [PA3002 .A5]
Greek Literature (The Cambridge History of Classical Literature). [PA3052 .G73] or online version
The Homer Encyclopedia. 3v. [PA4037 .A5 H58 2011]
The Encyclopedia of Greek Tragedy. 3v. [Reference: PA3133 .E53 2014]
Latin Literature (The Cambridge History of Classical Literature). [PA6003 .L3] or online version
Loeb Classical Library [Rolvaag Level 2: PA3611 - PA3612]. "The Loeb Classical Library® is the only series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, our entire classical heritage is represented here in convenient and well-printed pocket volumes in which an up-to-date text and accurate and literate English translation face each other page by page."
LANGUAGE RESOURCES
A Greek-English Lexicon (Oxford). [Reference: PA445 .E5 L6 1996]
Dictionaire étymologique de la langue grecque: histoire des mots. [Reference: PA422 .C5 1999]
Dictionaire étymologique de la langue latine: histoire des mots. [Reference: PA2342 .E7 1960]
Oxford Latin Dictionary. 2v [Reference: PA2365 .E58 O9]
Medieval Latin: An Introduction and Bibliographic Guide. [PA2802 .M43 1996]
Mediae Latinitatis lexicon minus. 2v [Reference: PA2890 .N54 2002]
PHILOSOPHY
Oxford Companion to Philosophy. [B51 .O94 1995] or online version
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 10v. [Reference: B51 .R68 1998]
Routledge History of Philosophy. 10v. [B72 .R6] or online version
especially v1: From the Beginning to Plato; and v2: From Aristotle to Augustine
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy. [B163 .E53 1997]
RELIGION
The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion. [BL715 .O94 2003]
Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities. [Reference: BL473 .C67 2000]
Women of Classical Mythology. [Reference: BL715 .B445 1991]
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s., 2v.
[Reference: NX650 .M9 R45 1993]
Organized alphabetically by mythological figure. There is a brief description of each figure followed by references to where that character appears in the classical literature. There are cross-references to other characters and a bibliography containing listings for where these mythological characters have appeared in music, dance, art, and literature.
ART
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture. 2v. [N5610 .G76 2007] or online version
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1900s [Rolvaag & Music Reference NX650 .M9 R45 1993]
Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC). [Carleton Reference N7760 .L49 1981]
CLOTHING & LIFESTYLE
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Throughout World History. 3v. [Reference: GT507 .G74 2008]
Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome. [Reference: DG77 .A35 1994]
ATLAS
Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity. [Reference: G1033 .A84]
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece. [Reference: G2001 .S1 M6 1996]
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Rome. [Reference: G1033 .S28 1995]
A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome. [Reference: DG68 .R5 1992]
HISTORY
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome. 7v. [Reference: DE5 .O95 2010] or online version
Brill's Encyclopedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity. 15v. [Reference: DE5 .N4813 2002]
Brill's Encyclopedia of the Ancient World: Classical Tradition. 5v. [Reference: DE5 .P33213 2006]
The Cambridge Ancient History. 14v. [D57 .C252] or online version
The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization. [R.R. DE5 .C28 2006]
The Oxford Classical Dictionary. [DE5 .O9 2003] or online version
A Companion to Greek and Roman Historiography. 2v. [Reference: DE8 .C65 2007]
Women's Roles in Ancient Civilization. [HQ1127 .W654 1999]
Biographical Dictionary of Ancient Greek and Roman Women. [HQ1136 .L54 2000]
International Medieval Bibliography. [Reference: D111 .I57 1989-present]