- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Spanish 311: Language, Power & Ideology
- Reference Materials
Spanish 311: Language, Power & Ideology
LibKey Nomad
Research Librarian
Online Reference
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources on Latino/a history and culture in the US, from pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations to the contemporary period. Includes images, maps, speeches, letter, legal cases, treaties, encyclopedia articles, a timeline, and other materials in English and Spanish.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Spanish Dictonaries
Oxford Spanish DictionaryCall Number: Ref: PC4640 .O94 2003
Diccionario Crítico Etimológico Castellano e HispánicoCall Number: Ref: PC4580 .C59 1980 (6v)
Diccionario Panhispanico DudasCall Number: Ref: PC4460 .D53 2005
Diccionario del Espanol ActualCall Number: Ref: PC4625 .S43 1999 (2)
Using Spanish SynonymsCall Number: Ref: PC4591 .B38 1994
Dictionary of Spanish Slang and Colloquil ExpressionsCall Number: Ref: PC4971 .M34 2000
History & Culture
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United StatesCall Number: Ref: E184.S75 O97 2005 (4v)
The Mexican American ExperienceCall Number: Rolvaag Stacks: E184.M5 M4535 2003
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural AmericaCall Number: Ref: E184.A1 G14 1999 (2v)
Encyclopedia of MulticulturalismCall Number: Ref: E184.A1 E58 1994 (6v)
Encyclopedia of Race and RacismCall Number: Ref: E184.A1 E584 2008 (3v)
Dictionary of American HistoryCall Number: Ref: E174 .D52 2003 (10v)
Linguistics & Communication
Encyclopedia of Language and LinguisticsCall Number: Ref: P29 .E48 2006 (14v)
International Encyclopedia of LinguisticsCall Number: Stacks: P29 .I58 2003 (3v)
The International Encyclopedia of CommunicationCall Number: Ref: P87.5 .B53 2008 (12v)
Handbooks
There are a number of handbooks to linguistics that may be extremely helpful for you. Just search Bridge using keywords such as sociolinguistics or psycholinguistics and the word "handbook". Here are some examples:
The Handbook of SociolinguisticsCall Number: Stacks: P40 .H3426 1998
The Handbook of Hispanic LinguisticsCall Number: Stacks: PC4073 .H36 2012
