- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Art 350: Methods of Art History
- Journal Articles
Art 350: Methods of Art History
LibKey Nomad
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
Art Research Databases
While you can use Catalyst to find articles, it is sometimes more efficient to look for them in arts-specific research databases. Plus, these databases provide a wider overview of the state of research in the field because unlike Catalyst, they index articles we don't have direct access to. You can request those articles through Resource Sharing -- see the Requesting Materials from Other Libraries tab on the left.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs and reviews concerning modern and contemporary art (late nineteenth-century to current, in diverse media). Covers materials published 1974-present, with some coverage extending back to the late 1960s.
- Art Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1984-present.
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, film reviews, bibliographies, museum bulletins, exhibition listings, competition and award notices, and other materials on the arts, archaeology, and design. Covers materials published 1929-1984.
Other Useful Databases
Art research is often interdisciplinary in scope. Here are some other helpful places to look for research!
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.
- ATLA Religion Database Plus This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews in religion and theology. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1949-present, with some coverage extending back to the nineteenth century.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, plus special reports, books, newsletters, and other materials in the areas of gender studies, women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer studies. Interdisciplinary and international. Covers materials published 1970-present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the contemporary period. Excludes North American history (which is covered in the companion database America: History & Life). Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1955-present.
If you can't find what you're looking for in these databases, our complete list of research databases is here. Use the "subject" dropdown menu to find databases recommended for the field you are researching.
