Chemistry: Library Resources for Introductory Chemistry Courses

LibKey Nomad

Email Me

Contact:

304 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

507-786-3658

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Creative Writing, Data Science, Engineering, English, Environmental Conversations, Environmental Studies, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science, Molecular Discovery, Neuroscience, Nursing, Physics, Public Health, Statistics and Data Science

Ulrichsweb.com
Ulrich's contains bibliographic and publisher information on periodicals, including scholarly journals, trade magazines, popular magazines, and newspapers. To determine whether a journal is peer-reviewed (or "refereed"), look for a black-and-white jersey symbol next to the journal listing.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
A benchmark of scientific reference, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, now available online in its 91st edition, continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. Also available in print.
Merck Index Online
Encyclopedia of chemicals and drugs with over 11,000 monographs on single substances or groups of related compounds.
Web of Science

A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.

PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database run by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
St Olaf Safety Data Sheets
Searchable database of safety information for specific chemicals. See the "Understanding Safety Data Sheets" link below (under "Websites") for information on interpreting Safety Data Sheets.

Webelements.com
Periodic table including an overview of each element.
KnowledgeDoor.com
Periodic table including an overview of each element.
NIST Webbook
The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
CAS Registry FAQs
Learn about the CAS Registry and CAS registry numbers.
Understanding Safety Data Sheets
Contains information on how to interpret Safety Data Sheets. See the "St. Olaf Safety Data Sheets" link above (under "Databases") to search for specific Safety Data Sheets.