Music 245: Music and Social Justice

Full-text primary and secondary sources on African American history and culture. Scholarly books and articles, oral histories, slave narratives, images, speeches, a historical timeline, teaching resources, and more.

Digitized Black newspapers published in the United States between 1827 and 1998.

Commentaries on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American and Native American history covering foreign reactions to America's struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond.

Full-text from The Atlanta Constitution (1896-1945), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and The New York Times (1851-2007).

Full-text primary and secondary sources on Latinx history and culture in the US, from pre-Columbian indigenous civilizations to the contemporary period. Includes images, maps, speeches, letter, legal cases, treaties, encyclopedia articles, a timeline, and other materials in English and Spanish.

Full-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.

Full-text news coverage from over 150 countries, from state-owned, independent, and clandestine radio, television, press, internet, and news agency sources. Materials in languages other than English are translated. Covers materials published/broadcast 1996-present. Note: An optional, free personal account allows access to additional features (RSS feeds, site preferences, etc.).

Premium access to The Chronicle of Higher Education, including news, analysis, and jobs for college and university faculty and staff.

Full-text magazine, newspaper, and journal articles drawn from ethnic and minority periodicals in the US (including African American, Arab American, Asian American, Eastern European, Jewish, Latino/a, and Native American periodicals). About a quarter of the articles are Spanish-language. Covers materials published 1959-present.

Musical America provides daily updates of the latest in-depth news reported by a team of international journalists, 30+ searchable databases with detailed industry contact information (searchable by artist specialty, budget, event type, or geography), and blogs written by industry experts.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.

Academic site license access to New York Times Online.
Note: You will need to register the first time you access this site. If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button).

Search 30 years of Minnesota history with The Pioneer Press Collection. Coverage from 1988 through current. Explore current and archived issues of The Pioneer Press with full-color newspaper pages and individual articles, as well as content only published online.

Full-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.

Academic site license to the Wall Street Journal Online. Note: You will need to set up an account on the WSJ website because an individual site account is required to finish the registration.