FYS 120O: Cues, College and Contentment

In-Class Activity

Sample Keyword/Database Tracker
Make a copy or simply be inspired by this sample Google Spreadsheet that illustrates one method of keeping track of your keyword searches.

Differences Between Scholarly & Popular Materials
This guide from NC State University illustrates the differences between scholarly sources, popular sources, and trade publications.
Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly Sources
This interactive slideshow highlights differences between scholarly and non-scholarly sources.

A-Z List of Databases
Click "Filter by Subject" to find databases relevant to your topic.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and professional journals, books, dissertations, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and other materials in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and related disciplines. Provides some full text. Covers materials published 1937-present.