Research & Writing Tutors
Research & Instruction/Data Services Librarian
Welcome!
Welcome to the Library Research Guide for FYS 120: Learning Spaces! It includes information and resources designed to aid you in locating research and managing sources for your assignments this semester.
Email me at schaez1@stolaf.edu or schedule a research consultation if you have any questions!
Find St. Olaf History
- Olaf Messenger This link opens in a new windowPublished since 1887, the Olaf Messenger is the student newspaper of St. Olaf College. The paper reports on campus events, sports, entertainment, people, and opinions. Previously titled the Manitou Messenger, this database includes digitized issues from 1887 to 2014.
- The Olaf Messenger (Current issues)This is the current website of the Olaf Messenger, the campus newspaper for St. Olaf College reporting primarily on the St. Olaf Community.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
- Viking YearbooksThe Viking is the St. Olaf yearbook, which ran from 1904-2007.
Dear Old Hill: The Story of Manitou Heights, the Campus of St. Olaf College by Call Number: LD4827.S62 S4 1992Publication Date: 1992
Manitou Analecta: A Collection of Narratives of Selected Events and Recollections Drawn From My Years of Association With St. Olaf College, Its Staff and Its Students by Call Number: LD4827.S62 H5Publication Date: 1968
- Visit the College ArchivesThe St. Olaf Archives are home to thousands of documents about the history of the college. In order to visit the archives, appointments are required.
Academic / College Specific Trade Sources
- Education Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to ERIC, the leading index for education research, as well as the full-text Education Database. Together, they provide coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including full text from hundreds of leading education journals.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowPremium access to The Chronicle of Higher Education, including news, analysis, and data for college and university faculty and staff.
- Inside Higher EdYou're limited to 5 articles per month, so read wisely!