FYS120P: Exploring the Deep
Welcome!
This guide includes information and resources designed to aid you in locating research and managing sources for your FYS 120 research assignments. For further assistance with your research, schedule a research consultation or contact your librarian using the contact information in the left-hand column.
Drop-in research help for FYS 120P students:
_____________
8:00-9:00 PM on Wednesday, November 8th and Thursday, November 9th
Room 355, Rolvaag Library (ask for directions at the library's front desk)
Stop by and meet with a research tutor for help finding and evaluating sources!
Catalyst Default Search
Databases: Find Popular & Scholarly Articles
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings in the aquatic sciences. Covers materials published 1971-present.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, books, maps, reports, and conference papers in the geosciences, including all publications of the US Geological Survey. Covers materials published 1669-present on the geology of North America, 1933-present on the geology of the rest of the world.
- SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThe SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowThe world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.