FYS 120P: Imagining Democracies Globally
Welcome!
Welcome to the Library Research Guide for FYS 120: Imagining Democracies Globally! It includes information and resources designed to aid you in locating research and managing sources for your assignments this semester.
Email me at schaez1@stolaf.edu or schedule a research consultation if you have any questions!
TAP Network
- TAP Network MembersAccess the list of TAP Network Members here
Find Background Info
Political Handbook of the World 2020-2021"The Political Handbook of the World provides timely, thorough, and accurate political information, with more in-depth coverage of current political controversies than any other reference guide. The updated 2020-2021 edition will continue to be the most authoritative source for finding complete facts and analysis on each country’s governmental and political makeup."
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowEconomic, political, geographic, and statistical data by country (throughout the world); maps; introductory essays on a wide range of regional issues; and lists of sources for further research. Also available in print.
Find News
- BBC Monitoring Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text news coverage from over 150 countries, from state-owned, independent, and clandestine radio, television, press, internet, and news agency sources. Materials in languages other than English are translated. Covers materials published/broadcast 1996-present. Note: An optional, free personal account allows access to additional features (RSS feeds, site preferences, etc.).
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a variety of local news sources. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
Identifying Scholarly Sources
- Differences Between Scholarly & Popular MaterialsThis guide from NC State University illustrates the differences between scholarly sources, popular sources, and trade publications.
- Scholarly vs. Non-Scholarly SourcesThis interactive slideshow highlights differences between scholarly and non-scholarly sources.
Find Scholarly Articles
- A-Z List of DatabasesClick "Filter by Subject" to find databases relevant to your topic.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowJournal articles and books in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, government and international agency documents, statistical directories, and other materials in public policy and public affairs. Covers materials published 1915-present.