Psychology 230A: Research Methods

Research & Instruction/Data Services Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Rolvaag Library 305
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057

(507) 786-3501

Subjects: Asian Conversations, Asian Studies, Chinese, Economics, Education, Family Studies, Japanese, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs Conversation, Public Health, Social Work, Social Work and Family Studies, Sociology/Anthropology

Welcome!

Welcome to the Library Research Guide for Psychology 230: Research Methods! It includes information and resources designed to aid you in locating research and managing sources for your assignments this semester.

Email me at schaez1@stolaf.edu or schedule a research consultation if you have any questions!

Keep Track of Your Searches

Sample Keyword/Database Tracker
Make a copy or simply be inspired by this sample Google Spreadsheet that illustrates one method of keeping track of your keyword searches.

Suggested Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and other materials in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Covers materials published 1806-present.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is the preferred service that researchers around the world use to browse, read and follow the scholarly journals available from their library.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A very powerful and varied database. Use the "citation" feature to check for new citing authors. Coverage from 1900 to present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, online books, and other materials in biomedical fields, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences. Links to some full text. Covers materials published 1950-present, with some coverage extending earlier.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and professional journal articles and other materials on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education. Covers materials published 1987-present.

A-Z List of St. Olaf Databases

A-Z List of Databases
Click "Filter by Subject" to find databases relevant to your topic.