- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Dance Subject Guide
- Finding Articles
Dance Subject Guide
An introduction to resources in dance at St. Olaf College
Research & Writing Tutors
Research and Instruction Librarian for Music & Fine Arts
Karen Olson
she/her/hers
What Is a Database?
A database allows you to search through a vast collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, as well as essays in books and conference papers. You may search by topic, author, or article title.
Some databases are "full-text" (i.e. provide the entire text of the article), some are "idexes" only, also called "bibliographic" (i.e. point you to the source of your article without providing its text), and some are a mix of the two.
Databases and Indexes for Dance and Music
Index to Dance Periodicals (available in print 1992-present) ( Rølvaag Reference GV 1594.I53 )The only index of periodical literature devoted specifically to the field of dance. Not available online -- you must use the paper volumes in the library.
- Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index This link opens in a new windowThe Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present that informs teaching, learning, and future directions of research in the field of dance education. NOTE: being updated in SP 2022..
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new windowInitiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College, this is a prime research tool for students of theatre and dance.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowMagazine and journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, news items, obituaries, and other materials on classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. Covers materials published 1970-present. Also available in print.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly and popular journals and magazines on the performing arts. Covers materials published 1864-present.
Other Useful Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowArticles on virtually every topic, drawn from scholarly journals, professional journals, trade magazines, news publications, and lifestyle magazines. Provides full-text access to over half of its 8000+ publications. Covers materials published 1975-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals articles in many disciplines. Dates of coverage vary by title, typically from the journal's first issue (sometimes in the eighteenth century or earlier) through about five years ago.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from a large collection of contemporary newspapers, including The New York Times, The Times (London), and The Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new windowMagazine articles published in the US, 1890-1982.