- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Gender and Sexuality Studies Subject Guide
- Find Background Info
Gender and Sexuality Studies Subject Guide
Research & Writing Tutors
Research & Instruction Librarian for Student Engagement
Rebecca Machado
she/her/hers
Contact:
302 Rolvaag Memorial Library
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
Website
1510 St. Olaf Avenue
St. Olaf College
Northfield, MN 55057
Online Reference Books
Black Women in AmericaPublication Date: 2005e-book
"In nearly 600 entries, Black Women in America celebrates the remarkable achievements of black women throughout history [and] highlights their ongoing contributions in America today."
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on GenderPublication Date: 2001e-book
Discusses "psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior. Coverage includes studies of these differences in applied settings such as education, business, the home, in politics, sports competition, etc."
Sage Encyclopedia of Psychology and GenderThis Encyclopedia looks at issues of gender, identity, and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level, exploring topics such as how gender intersects with developmental processes both in infancy and childhood as well as throughout later life stages; the evolution of feminism and the men's movement; the ways in which gender can affect psychological outcomes and influence behavior; and more.
General Reference Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to over 500 highly-regarded titles from 70 publishers. Covers every major subject in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences from the world's best publishers of reference.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Print Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in AmericaCall Number: (Rolvaag Reference) HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004Publication Date: 2004This encyclopedia surveys "topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS.... Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index."
Encyclopedia of MotherhoodCall Number: (Rolvaag Reference) HQ759 .E52 2010Publication Date: 2010"A comprehensive resource to understanding the complexities of motherhood for academic and public libraries, written by scholars and institutional experts in the social and behavioral sciences."
Encyclopedia of Sex and GenderCall Number: (Reference Room) HQ16 .E52 2007Publication Date: 2007"The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality."
Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural, and Historical EncyclopediaCall Number: (Rolvaag Reference) HQ1090.3 .M436 2004Publication Date: 2004"Brings together for the first time considerable knowledge of men and manhood, focusing on such areas as sexual violence, intimacy, pornography, homophobia, sports, profeminist men, rituals, sexism, and many other important subjects."
Revisiting Gender: The Reference ShelfCall Number: H35 .R4 v.86 no.2Publication Date: 2014"Examines the changing role of women and men in shaping American life in education, work, and public and private life."
