- St. Olaf Libraries
- Research Guides
- Gender and Sexuality Studies Subject Guide
- Find Primary Sources
Gender and Sexuality Studies Subject Guide
LibKey Nomad
Resource Sharing Librarian
in Library Databases
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowFull-text diaries and letters written by North American women, 1675-1950. Users can browse by year, historical event, location, or life experience in addition to searching. Also includes brief biographies of the authors.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowContains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out is included.
- Women's Magazine Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowWomen's Magazine Archive offers consumer magazines aimed at a female readership. Recognized as primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary and secondary sources in US women's history, 1600-2000. Includes primary documents in many genres, images, a biographical dictionary, a dictionary of social movements/organizations, a timeline, and teaching resources.
on the Web
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Search over 15,798,968 items from libraries, archives, and museums across the country.
- Digital Transgender Archive (College of the Holy Cross)"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."
- Lesbian Herstory Archives"The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities." Some of the collection has been digitized.
Search the Web
When searching the open web, look for primary sources from libraries, archives, museums, and universities. Here are some examples of a few reputable sources: